Email: | Office hours: Monday to Thursday: 8h30 to 17h00, Fridays: 08h30 to 16h30

Types of BEE ratings

Types of BEE rating by SANAS-accredited BEE rating agency BEE Empowered

1. Full rating

  • All 7 elements of the Generic Scorecard.
  • Annual turnover > R35 million.
  • Sector Code.

2. Qualifying Small Enterprises (QSE)

3. Title

  • Annual turnover between R5 million and R35 million.
  • All elements are measured.
  • 4 of the 7 elements are used, each counting 25%.
  • A QSE can elect to be measured in terms of the Generic Scorecard.

4. Exempted Micro Enterprise (EME)

  • Annual turnover < R5 million.
  • 65% if < 50.1% black-owned – Level Four Contributor – 100% BEE procurement recognition level. 75% if > 50.1% black-owned – Level Three Contributor – 110% BEE procurement recognition level.
  • An EME can elect to be measured using the QSE Scorecard.

5. Start-up Enterprises

  • Measured as an EME for the first year following formation (regardless of expected total revenue).
  • Enterprise must provide an independent confirmation of its status.
  • If tendering for any contract:
  • QSE Scorecard if the contract value is between R5 million and R35 million
  • Generic Scorecard if the contract value is > R35 million

6. Specialised Enterprises

  • Companies limited by guarantee.
  • Higher education institutions.
  • Non-profit organisations.
  • Public entities and enterprises wholly owned by organs of state.
  • Public benefit schemes.
  • Section 21 companies
  • Adjusted Generic Scorecard and an Adjusted Qualifying Small Enterprise Scorecard is used, depending on the enterprise’s annual turnover.

Have a question about BEE?

Simply fill out your details below and we will contact you with the information you require.

  • Add any additional message to us above.
© Copyright 2007-2022 All rights reserved 1 NetBEE Empowered (Pty) Ltd. Read Disclaimer.